

The Department of Physics and Astronomy

at the University of California, Riverside

Graduation Recognition Ceremony

Virtual Ceremony via Zoom and YouTube, 2:00 p.m.

June 13, 2020

Welcome

Professor Kenneth Barish Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Keynote Speaker - Dr. Raymond Orbach, UCR Chancellor 1992-2002

Anne Kernan Memorial - Barry Barish, 2017 Nobel Laureate

Candidates for Bachelor of Science Degrees Professor Owen Long, Undergraduate Advisory Chair

Robert L. Wild Family Award - Outstanding 1st Year Undergraduate Student Justin Burzachiello Shruti Palur Mallampalli

Michael Devarian Award - Outstanding 1st Year Undergraduate Student Bruce Bagby

Brown Williams Endowment Award - Outstanding 2^{ad} Year Undergraduate Student Tristan Carlo Rojo Sanya Dhami Megan Samn

R. Stephen White Endowment Award - Outstanding 3rd Year Undergraduate Student Riley Gleason Daniel Morales Kishan Patel

 R. Stephen White Endowment Award - Outstanding Senior Undergraduate

 Abby Leung
 Erik Hagan
 Tyler Smith

Candidates for Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy Degrees Professor Jory Yarmoff, Graduate Advisory Chair

Outstanding Teaching Assistant

Mehmet Kilinc Jeremiah vanBaren Bryan Scott

Welei Zeng

Albert Staats Award for Exceptional Skills in Designing and Building Physics Apparatus Yuanqian Liu (Prof. Harry Tom)

Benjamin C. Shen Memorial Award - Outstanding 1st Year Graduate Student

Haoyu Liu and Andrew Weldon

Benjamin C. Shen Memorial Award- Outstanding Junior Graduate Student Researcher Christopher Cain (Prof. Anson D'Aloisio) and Jessica Doppel (Prof. Laura Sales)

Anne Kernan Award - Outstanding Senior Graduate Student Researcher Hamed Asasi (Prof. Michael Mulligan) and Sanaz Panahandeh (Prof. Roya Zandi)

Robert T. Poe Memorial Scholarship Award for Outstanding PhD Graduate Trevor Arp (Prof. Nathan Gabor) and Mark Lohmann (Prof. Jing Shi)

> Candidates for Bachelor of Science Degree Gloria Cazares

Keanuhea Junior Dailey

Mason Biggerstaff Bryan Cubillo

Elizabeth Finnev

Oscar Chung Daniel Peter Nicholas Darden Edason Freer Miriam Gonzalez Erik Hagen Franco Iglesias Jose Lara Espinosa Zhen Lei Andre Medina Syris Norelli Bryant Vu Phan Endy Segundo Joshua Suarez Christopher Valenzuela Grace Dodgen Calvin Glisson Nathan Gootee Jeffrey Hendrix Ethan Jarquin Arturo Lares-Valencia Abby Leung Igor Miroshnykov Aiden-James Olvera Lizeth Romo Emilie Simpson Kunsakol Triloges Andrew Vasquez

Jocelyn Fischer Miguel Angel Gomez Christopher Guerrero Ryan Hernandez Ronny Keith Krogstad Clarence Lau Adrian Louie Justin Mullins George Padilla Simon Sandhofer Tyler Smith Thinh Truong Benjamin Yin

Candidates for Master of Science Degree

William Baker Malia Chavalier Elizabeth Finney Mingda Guo Jackson Kishbaugh-Maish Xilin Liang Alexander Mercaldi Joshua Raimist Jonathan Turner Michael Worcester Christopher Cain Robert Dawson Nakul Gangolli Meng Hou Brian Lee Yifan Liu Mahdi Qezlou Shirash Regmi Chen Wang Linke Xie

Cameron Chevalier Farima Farahmand Adam Green Mehmet Kilinc John Lee Erik Loyd Careron Racz Varrick Suezaki Shixiong Wang Yongda Zhu

Candidates for Doctor of Philosophy Degree

Bassim Saleh Arkook (Prof. Igor Barsukov) Trevor Arp (Prof. Nathan Gabor) Mohamed Hamdy Elhashash (Prof. Gillian Wilson) Lydia Elias (Prof. Laura Sales) Tara Fetherolf (Prof. Naveen Reddy) Shane Kelly (Prof. Shan-Wen Tsai) Christina King (Prof. Gaby Canalizo) Yawen Liu (Prof. Jing Shi) Mark Lohmann (Prof. Jing Shi) Adrian Nosek (Prof. Marc Bockrath) Victor Ortiz (Prof. Jing Shi) Jackson Pitts (Prof. Kirill Shtengel) Robert Schafer (Prof. Umar Mohideen) Remington Sexton (Prof. Gaby Canalizo) Weinan Si (Prof. Gail Hanson) Jon Spalding (Prof. Shan-Wen Tsai) Jeremiah vanBaren (Prof. Joshua Lui)



PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY GRADUATION RECOGNITION CEREMONY KEYNOTE SPEAKER



Dr. Raymond Orbach is the founding director of The University of Texas at Austin's Energy Institute, a multidisciplinary institute that combines the strengths of the university's schools and colleges to advance solutions to today's energy-related challenges. He also has joint appointments as a professor with tenure in the Cockrell School's Department of Mechanical Engineering; the College of Natural Sciences' Physics Department; and the Jackson School of Geosciences.

From March 14, 2002 until mid-2009, Orbach was Director of the Office of Science at the Department of Energy and was sworn in as the Department of Energy's first Under Secretary for Science in June 2006. As the Department's Chief Scientist, he was

adviser to Secretary of Energy Samuel W. Bodman for science policy and programs, including basic and applied research ranging from nuclear energy to environmental clean-up of Cold War legacy sites to defense programs. He was responsible for planning, coordinating, and overseeing the Energy Department's research and development programs, its 17 national laboratories and its science and engineering education activities.

Orbach was also responsible for the Department's implementation of the President's American Competitiveness Initiative, designed to help drive continued economic growth in the U.S. He led the Department's efforts to transfer technologies from the Department of Energy's national laboratories to the global marketplace.

Orbach began his academic career as a postdoctoral fellow at Oxford University and became an assistant professor of applied physics at Harvard University. He joined the faculty of the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) as an associate professor, and became a full professor in 1966. Orbach's research in theoretical and experimental physics has resulted in the publication of more than 240 scientific articles, and he is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. From 1982 to 1992, he served as Provost of the College of Letters and Science at UCLA, and from 1992 to 2002 as Chancellor of the University of California, Riverside.

Orbach received a Bachelor of Science degree in Physics from the California Institute of Technology and a Ph.D. in Physics from the University of California, Berkeley.